Brief History of LSFC.

    The exact origins of the Club are not documented but it seems that in 1918 two existing village teams merged, to form Ludgershall Sports Football Club. Its' headquarters were in the back bar of the Prince of Wales Hotel and those who were two young to go in the bar waited on the pavement outside to see if they had been picked! 

    However, this early view of the club's origin has been thrown into some doubt recently, when the Wiltshire FA contacted the club to award a plaque to mark our 100th year of football, with it transpiring that the Wilts FA's records showed that the club existed in 1900. 

The first secretary of note was Fred Elliot, whose grandson, grandson-in-law, and great grandson were all to play for the club from the 60s to the present day.

    Like most clubs there were ups and downs; one of the high points was in the late 1920s and early 1930s when a team of all Ludgershall lads won the Morrison Cup, the Faber Cup, the Wiltshire Junior Cup and were runners up in the Salisbury League. Eric Wilson was the captain and other included Mick Perry, Jim Snell, Maurice Budd, Roy Meade, John Knight and Denis Roberts. It was shortly after this, in the mid 30s that the Club purchased the main parcel of ground on which we still play.

    Another successful team came in the late 1950s and early  60s, partly following the wind up of local rivals, Kangaroo Sports. Among this team were Len Ransom, Cliff Waugh, Eddie Pearce, Dicky Toal, Bill Markwood, Micky Walsh (snr) and Andy McGlashan, who was asked to keep goal one day when Len Ransom couldn't play and proved to be such a natural keeper that he subsequently went on to play for Andover Town, and much later was manager and secretary of the football club and secretary of the parent Working Mens Club.

    During the 60s, there was a successful side in the Wiltshire League, managed by Alf Denton and Neil Blackmore with Brian Budd and Roy Place among others, and later in the 60s there was a successful team with Bob Bale, Trevor Keohane, John Watson, Alan Spanswick (Current President) and Larry Shirley.

    There was a further expedition to the Wilts League under the managership of Chris Way and forays in the North Hants Senior League with Geoff Johnston and Mick Witt as managers.

    However, it was in the early 90s that the club has probably  produced the most sustained period of success. Under the management of Steve Winstone the club won the Andover and District Saturday League in 91/92 and went onto win the North Hants League in the following season (92/93). This led to promotion to the Hampshire League, where the club were crowned Hants League Div 3 champions in their first season (93/94) under the leadership of Mike Walsh. With players such as forwards Ian Winstone, Chris Phillips, wingers Jeremy Hayward, Simon Stutheridge, a midfield of Mike himself and Brendan Spanswick, and a back line consisting of the likes of Adie Brice, Simon Poultney, Dave Keefe, Gary Collinson, Dave Austin. 

    Success has also been achieved in Sunday Football with Mike Walsh leading Ludgershall to the Andover and District Sunday League title in 90/91, Brendan Spanswick and Simon Poultney then took the club on a series of League and Cup Triumphs.

    In 2000/01, the club once again won the ADL and progressed to the North Hants League, where promotion once again to the Hampshire League was achieved.

    Then in 2003 Ludgershall Sports joined the expanded Wessex League, but withdraw  at the the end of the 04/05 season, due to uncertainties surrounding the required ground improvements. Ludgershall Sports then returned to the Hampshire League (2004) a respectable debut season has seen the club re-establish itself as credible county league side once again.